Fall nesting 2012- Week 2 – Little Fall touches at home

I am happy to finally get on board with blogging, even if just to exchange fun decorating ideas and connect with kindred spirits who love spending time at home, making a comfortable nest for their family, and bringing little bits of happy to everyday life. Today I am sharing some Fall touches displayed throughout the house and joining the Fall Nesting party at www.theinspiredroom.net.

Our mudroom off the garage opens into the kitchen. I added simple touches to the area in front of the sink using assorted gourds and mini pumpkins placed on a scalloped glass platter that is elevated with a glass tumbler underneath. I added a few curls of sparkly Halloween ribbon for a bit of glitz.

Free printable and gourds displayed in front of kitchen sink

Simple, colorful, and festive

I also switched out my frame and added a simple Fall subway art printable I found on Google images. I enjoy looking out the 2 windows onto the bird feeder I have hanging within sight. Lots of chickadees and juncos stopping by now that I have put the seed back out for fall/winter.

We have an open plan main floor. The living room is here, and the main TV. I got some pillow covers (PB) and a new rug (Dash &Albert) to usher the warm fall colors inside. I also found a faux fur ultra-soft throw in a milk chocolate color to drape over the chair when not in use. It is wonderful to cuddle up with when watching a movie or football.

These are the 20″ pillow covers I got from PB. They coordinate with the smoke blue chunky stripe 24″ covers I already had from PB.

On another wall is an antique hutch that I use to display my Blue Willow collection. I have added a little Fall on top, including some bittersweet that I plan to clip from the woods and drape over the stained glass windows. Another touch of sparkle comes from the orange glittered glass owl found at Marshall’s last month.

Owl perched on top of blue willow hutch

Into the dining room we go! This room is a soothing shade of sea blue and is usually decorated with shell accents. I do like the turquoise and orange color scheme for fall, so that is the inspiration here. Some sparkly branches among the faux maple leaves repeats the glitzy element, and the mercury glass pumpkin pair offer a nice counterbalance.

PB’s were the inspiration but I found a similar pair MUCH cheaper at Marshall’s

The dining room table centerpiece was inspired by an image I saw on the net. I had not used burlap before and really like the rustic nature and feeling it gives. Unravelling the edges is fun and imperfect and only adds to the charm/ease of setup. I reused some candles, candleholder, and garland that I already had, and added a few faux mini pumpkins to fill in the grouping.

Dining room centerpiece for Fall

Well, that’s it for me right now! Check back next week for a look at some of the outdoor Fall touches, including the front porch. Thanks for looking and I hope you come back soon.

Leave a Reply

